h1

Music, Fiesta.

November 11, 2009

IMG_0238

My Music Fiesta kakis! πŸ˜€

DMIT Music Fiesta was a success, I loved the experience and the kids too! Hopefully in the next few camps, I can still be part of it. πŸ˜€ Had a fun time working with Mr Leong, Mr Ang and all the Sec 1 to Sec 3 kids. They were a co-operative bunch of people and it was very enjoyable working with them!

Through this programme, I actually saw the very naked and raw love for music in these kids. During our time in DMAT, and all the criticism that were thrown to us by better musicians; has our passion for music degraded? Did we lose the sheer pleasure and love that we had for music? Just playing or listening?

They still had it in them, I mean the kids. Music is still a hobby and something fun to them, and perhaps they have learnt a lot more than they expected during this camp. But for us, music, something that we loved, it became something that we have to work with, and not just purely enjoying it anymore. How can I get it back?

I remember a conversation with GLow in Year 1, when I was doing Assignment 4 part 1.

Me: There are a few songs that I listen to and feel very touched by it…
GLow: The magic of music will disappear when you have been in the industry as long as me.
Me: Huh, so you won’t be touched by songs anymore?
GLow: Not quite anymore. When I hear a song I automatically listen for the mix. Unless I come across really good tunes.

Would the magic of music work on me in 20 years time? I hope it does.

Leave a comment